Skip to content
RMIT University Library - Learning Lab

Sample letter to students

60 Ford St
Thornbury, VIC, 3071
30 January, 2006
Dear Everyone,

I would like to tell you a little about myself.

I am an ESL teacher, that is, I teach English to people whose first language is not English. I have been an ESL teacher for about 12 years. Before that I was a social worker in a hospital mainly working with people who had cancer. Before that again I was a secondary school teacher, teaching English, history and drama.

I was born in Australia in Ballarat. I lived in a tiny town called Bungaree (an Aboriginal word) on a potato farm until I left school. I have 5 brothers and 5 sisters. All except one are older than me. One of my brothers lives in Italy and a sister lives in Malawi (in Africa) and 3 of my siblings live interstate. My father died many years ago, but my mother died two years ago at 94.

When I finished school I went to university in Melbourne. I have lived most of my life here since then. I lived for a short time overseas (in USA and Honduras) and I lived in the country for a few years in Beechworth and Ballarat. I like living in Melbourne and I think I will spent the rest of my life here. I now live in Thornbury.

I live with my partner, Paul and my son, Jonathan who is in Year 9 at secondary school. I also have 2 stepdaughters and 2 stepsons who are all adults. Now that they are adults I like being a stepmother.

I love gardening, though I have not had much time to do it lately. I also like to read novels and the newspaper. I love travelling and have visited every continent except Africa and Antarctica. I have just been to Italy to visit my brother.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Mary Smith

Download this page as a PDF (35KB)